Biodiversity

Biodiversity

While global warming was previously considered only as an aggravating factor in biodiversity loss, it is now recognized in the 2019 assessment report of the Intergovernmental Scientific and Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES) as a major determinant. Researchers estimate that it poses an increasing risk to biodiversity and ecosystem services (such as carbon storage, water purification, pollination, food supply, etc.).

Ecosystem-based adaptation is often an attractive choice. It includes various ways of working with biodiversity to make cities, coastlines, river basins, forests etc. more resilient to the impacts of climate change. Some examples: reforestation of slopes, creation of natural flood retention areas, agroforestry,  green corridors for cities, etc.

About 20-30% of animal and vegetable species would be at increased risk of extinction if the average global temperature were to rise by more than 1.5-2.5° C.

Climate change is exacerbating the threats to biodiversity (such as habitat fragmentation and destruction, pollution, overexploitation and even biological invasions) by affecting:

the geographical distribution of species

Many European plant and animal species have already altered their ranges in response to climatic changes that have already occurred. Many warm-weather species are moving north. The presence and number of species originating from hot to temperate climates have increased over the last few decades in Belgium.

The effects of climate change may be conducive to certain pests (proliferation of ticks, pine processionaries, etc.).

At the same time, certain species present in Belgium will be moving further north.

The pace of climate change is, however, outstripping the ability of many species to adapt and migrate, particularly where species are prevented from moving by habitat fragmentation or cannot find suitable habitats.

the life cycle of certain species

The temperature rise is advancing certain Spring events, such as the opening of buds, and delaying Autumn events, such leaf-colour change. The pollen season starts earlier in Europe and lasts for longer than was the case 50 years ago.

In general, migratory birds are arriving earlier due to the increasingly frequent warm winters.

Phenological changes caused by climate change could pose a threat for biodiversity by changing how species interact (this is the case, for example, of the European Pied Flycatcher: the arrival date of this migratory species has not kept pace with the earlier emergence of the principal food for its chicks).

interaction between organisms

Climate change may disrupt the interaction between species (competition, predation, parasitism, pollination, commensalism, etc.), but also generate new interrelationships. Threats posed for individual species are often exacerbated by changes to interspecies interactions, particularly in the case of so-called specialised species. The arrival of new species adapted to the new climatic conditions may pose a threat to the structure of the existing ecosystems and the services they provide.

proliferation of invasive species

Invasive species are plant or animal species that have been introduced by humans outside their area of origin and which have spread in such a way that they pose a significant threat to biodiversity. Some of them cause public health problems and the costs associated with their impacts and management are significant.

The ability of species to settle and develop in a new territory is highly dependent on climate. Climate change therefore influences biological invasions by modifying the mechanisms of species transport and introduction, allowing new species to establish and modifying the distribution and impacts of existing species. In addition, climate change is also expected to impact the effectiveness of control strategies.

The emergence of pests and diseases

Climate change amplifies food safety risks and contributes to a decline in habitat quality.

A number of mutually complementary measures have been taken in Belgium, including:

– Establishing a network of protected areas (Natura 2000) by the three Regions, and at Federal level for the marine environment. 255 special protection areas have been designated for the purposes of the Birds Directive and 281 special conservation areas for the purposes of the Habitats Directive, making a total of 310 Natura 2000 sites and corresponding to a total surface area of 5 163 km2 (EU-barometer Natura 2000 – 2019).

– Establishing a (partial) classification of the species present in Belgium based on their climate needs (bioclimatic classification of species).

– Combating fragmentation (e.g. blue and green network in the Brussels region, defragmentation of rivers (dams and locks), grants in Wallonia for the planting and maintenance of indigenous hedgerows, orchards and rows of trees, components of the ecological network, etc.

– Implementing a common approach to preventing the introduction of invasive species and limiting their propagation.

– Strengthening agricultural biodiversity (through agri-environmental measures).

– Diversifying species to improve resilience to climate change (forests, green spaces, etc.).

– Monitoring the effects of climate change on biodiversity.

– Developing (and mapping) an economic assessment of ecosystem services

The project ‘Coastbusters’  (2017 – 2020 ) test different innovative ecostem based solutions to protect the coast.

Biodiversity in towns is the focus of particular concern. The “greening” of towns: the green transformation of towns has been the subject of a study on how to meet the challenges presented by climate change. The findings of that study were published in a brochure (‘Investeer in groen – winst verzekerd’ [Invest in green – a guaranteed return]).

IPCC: Special report “Climate change, desertification, land degradation, sustainable land management, food security, and greenhouse gas fluxes in terresterial ecosystems’ (2019)

IPBES (Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services): Global Assessment Report on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services  (2019)

The online tool BiodiversiTree helps companies to define actions in favor of biodiversity around 4 axes (land, infrastructure, purchasing and processes).

Ecosystem based adaptation (EBA) :

Case Studies

  Hotton

Landscaping against floods in Hotton
More info

  Belgium

Tracking Invasive Alien Species – TrIAS
More info

Biodiversité

Biodiversité

Alors que le réchauffement climatique n’était jusqu’à présent considéré que comme un facteur aggravant de la perte de biodiversité, il est aujourd’hui reconnu dans le rapport d’évaluation (2019) de la Plateforme Intergouvernementale scientifique et politique sur la biodiversité et les services écosystémiques (IPBES) comme un déterminant majeur. Les chercheurs estiment qu’il constitue un risque croissant  pour la biodiversité et les services écosystémiques (tels que stockage du carbone, épuration de l’eau, pollinisation, provision de nourriture, etc.).

L’adaptation fondée sur les écosystèmes est souvent une option à privilégier. Elle consiste à valoriser la biodiversité pour rendre les villes, les côtes, les bassins fluviaux, les forêts, etc. plus résilients aux effets des changements climatiques. Quelques exemples : reboisement des talus, création de zones naturelles inondables, agroforesterie, corridors verts urbains, etc.

Environ 20 à 30 pour cent des espèces animales et végétales courent un risque accru d’extinction si la température moyenne mondiale augmente de plus de 1.5 à 2.5 °C.

Les changements climatiques exacerbent les menaces qui pèsent sur la biodiversité (tels que la fragmentation et la destruction des habitats, la pollution, la surexploitation ou encore les invasions biologiques) en exerçant un impact sur :

la distribution géographique des espèces

Beaucoup d’espèces européennes de plantes et d’animaux ont déjà modifié leurs aires de répartition en réponse aux changements climatiques observés. De nombreuses espèces thermophiles progressent vers le nord. La présence et le nombre d’espèces des climats tempérés chauds ont augmenté au cours des dernières décennies en Belgique.

Certaines espèces nuisibles (tiques, chenilles processionnaires du pin, etc.) peuvent être favorisées par les effets des changements climatiques.

Simultanément, certaines espèces présentes en Belgique vont s’installer plus au Nord.

Toutefois, le rythme des changements climatiques dépasse la capacité de nombreuses espèces à s’adapter et à migrer, en particulier lorsque la fragmentation du paysage limite le mouvement des espèces ou lorsque les espèces ne trouvent pas d’habitats adaptés.

la phénologie de certaines espèces

L’augmentation de la température rend plus précoces certains événements printaniers, tels que l’éclosion des bourgeons, et plus tardifs certains événements automnaux, tels que le jaunissement des feuilles. La saison pollinique commence plus tôt en Europe et est plus longue qu’elle ne l’était il y a 50 ans.

Les oiseaux migrateurs arrivent généralement plus tôt en raison de l’augmentation de la fréquence des hivers doux.

En bouleversant les interactions entre espèces, les changements phénologiques induits par les changements climatiques peuvent mettre en péril la biodiversité (ceci est illustré par exemple par le cas du Gobemouche noir : la date d’arrivée de cette espèce migratrice progresse plus lentement que la période d’apparition de la nourriture principale de sa descendance).

les interactions entre les organismes

Les changements climatiques peuvent perturber les interactions établies entre espèces (compétition, prédation, parasitisme, pollinisation, commensalisme, etc.), mais aussi en générer de nouvelles. Les menaces exercées sur les espèces individuelles sont souvent amplifiées par les modifications des interactions interspécifiques, en particulier pour les espèces dites spécialistes. L’arrivée de nouvelles espèces adaptées aux nouvelles conditions climatiques peut bouleverser la structure des écosystèmes existants ainsi que les services rendus par ses derniers.

La prolifération d’espèces invasives

Les espèces invasives sont des espèces végétales ou animales qui ont été introduites par l’homme en dehors de leur aire d’origine et qui ont proliféré au point de constituer une menace importante pour la biodiversité. Certaines sont à l’origine de problèmes de santé publique et les coûts associés aux impacts et à la gestion de ces espèces sont considérables. 

La capacité des espèces à s’installer dans un nouveau territoire et à s’y développer dépend fortement du climat. Le changement climatique influence donc les invasions biologiques en modifiant les mécanismes de transport et d’introduction d’espèces, en permettant à de nouvelles espèces de s’établir et en modifiant la distribution et les impacts des espèces déjà présentes. Sans compter que le changement climatique devrait également impacter l’efficacité des stratégies de lutte.

L’apparition d’espèces nuisibles et de maladies

Les changements climatiques amplifient les risques sanitaires et contribuent à la dégradation de la qualité des habitats.

Un certain nombre de mesures ont été prises en Belgique, ces mesures se renforcent mutuellement. À titre d’exemple :

– L’établissement du réseau d’aires protégées (Natura 2000) par les 3 Régions ainsi qu’au niveau fédéral pour le milieu marin. 255 zones de protection spéciales ont été désignées dans le cadre de la « directive Oiseaux » et 281 zones spéciales de conservation ont été désignées dans le cadre de la « directive Habitats », soit au total 310 sites Natura 2000 correspondant à une superficie de 5 163 km2 (baromètre UE Natura 2000 – 2019).

– L’établissement d’une classification (partielle) des espèces présentes en Belgique en fonction de leurs besoins climatiques (classification bioclimatique des espèces)

– Lutte contre la fragmentation (ex : maillage bleu et vert en Région bruxelloise, défragmentation des rivières (barrières et écluses), subventions en Wallonie pour la plantation et l’entretien de haies vives indigènes, vergers et alignements d’arbres, éléments du réseau écologique, …

– Mise en place d’une approche commune pour éviter l’introduction et limiter la propagation des espèces invasives

– Renforcement de la biodiversité agricole (via les mesures agri environnementales)

– Diversification des espèces pour améliorer la résilience aux changements climatiques (forêts, espaces verts, etc.)

– Monitoring des effets des changements climatiques sur la biodiversité,

– Développement (et cartographie) de l’évaluation économique des services écosystémiques

Le projet Coastbusters (2017 – 2020 ) explore différentes technique innovantes de protection de la côte grâce basée sur les écosystèmes.

Une attention particulière est accordée à la biodiversité dans les villes. Le « verdissement » des villes (écologisation des villes) a fait l’objet d’une étude sur la manière de faire face aux défis que les changements climatiques représentent. Les résultats de cette étude ont été vulgarisés dans une brochure (« Investeer in groen – winst verzekerd » ).

Mai 2019: Global Assessment Report on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES))

L’outil en ligne BiodiversiTree aide les entreprises à définir des actions en faveur de la biodiversité autour de 4 axes (terrains, infrastructures, achats et processus).

Adaptation fondée sur les écosystèmes (EbA) :

Études de cas

  Hotton

Aménagements contre les inondations à Hotton
En savoir plus

  Belgique

Suivi des espèces exotiques envahissantes (Tracking Invasive Alien Species – TrIAS)
En savoir plus